DIY Gold-Handled Mug

goldmug

Quite some time ago I came across a picture of a gold handled mug from Target on Confetti Style’s Instagram feed and I just couldn’t get the image out of my mind.

Screenshot_2014-12-03-13-19-12

I tried for weeks to locate the mug at the store and online but I was never able to find it.

goldmugbefore

That’s where this boring black mug came in. These happened to be the first mugs we ever bought as a married couple. Why we chose black? I have no idea. The other three mugs have been dropped or cracked over the last 10 years. So only this one remains. Perfect candidate for a DIY.

goldmugsupplies

I used Rustoleum Gold spray paint (my fav), painters tape, and spray enamel. I did one coat of gold spray paint and when that was dry, I used Rustoleum spray enamel to seal it. I let it sit for about 24 hours before I removed the tape. Since it’s pretty impossible to get a clean line on a curved object, I used fingernail polish remover to clean up any over spray from the spray paint.

I’m not sure if it’s dishwasher safe so I’m hand washing it for now and it’s held up pretty well after a few washes.

goldmug6

goldmug2

I love how it turned out. It feels so glamorous to be drinking out of a gold-handled mug. #imsofancy

Want more DIY? Check these out:

starburst title          paintedwatchbox (1)          diyrosettepillowcover


And as always

stay connected

 PinterestFacebookTwitterInstagram

22 thoughts on “DIY Gold-Handled Mug

  1. I love it! I would feel super fancy drinking out of one of these, too! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing at Talented Tuesday Link Party! 🙂

  2. Pingback: #TBT – Christmas 2013 | September Four

Leave a Reply

