How to Bleach Pine Cones

I’m re-posting this post from last November because it’s about that time to bring out the fall decorations and for a lot of people — pine cones are a mainstay.

Of course you can buy a bag of pine cones but if you happen to have a tree that produces them in your backyard — here’s how I bleached some pine cones.


pineconecover

Tis the season for bleached pine cones.

I’ve seen image after image of the ubiquitous seasonal decoration being bleached and amping up it’s style.

I loved it so much that I even tried my hand at it.

We were in the park last weekend, enjoying the gorgeous Houston weather and the girls and I picked up a few pine cones.

The process is easy enough. Though, it’s totally not one of those instant gratification projects. More like 24 hour gratification.

I followed a few tutorials that I saw, using a 1:1 ratio of bleach to water. I submerged my pine cones and placed a bowl on top so that they would stay in the solution.

They sat for about 24 hours and then I rinsed them. If you’re impatient, like me, pop those babies in the oven on 200 for a couple of hours until they’re totally dry. They took a surprisingly long time to dry.

pinecone3.1

They didn’t get as light as I’d hoped, but I didn’t want to risk another go round and have them disintegrate on me. They’re pretty and will transition perfectly from Thanksgiving to Christmastime.


Need to catch up on my 31 Days to a more Beautiful, Purposeful and Functional Home Series?

Follow along here.

And as always


stay connected

 PinterestFacebookTwitterInstagram

4 thoughts on “How to Bleach Pine Cones

  1. I need to try this! I recently rinsed some pinecones with water just to get the dirt off and the pointy things closed up. They opened back up after they dried.

    Did that happen to you when you bleached yours?

    I love your blog !

Leave a Reply

