How to Use Thrift Store Finds In Your Home

how to use thrift store finds in your home

Quite awhile ago I wrote about a few things I found while thrifting and I realized that I never showed what I ended up using the items for.

I promise I’m not a hoarder who collects things from the thrift store and then throws them into some random pile. For me, the point of going to the thrift store is to find unique things that I can use or repurpose in my home. I want the things I buy to function. And look pretty while doing so.

I like to keep things pretty simple when it comes to what I choose to buy at thrift stores. I think of function first (how I can use the item in my home) and if I really need it. Searching for treaures is fun, but not if it turns into an old dusty collection of stuff other people didn’t want.

The best way I’ve found to not have the finds end back up in the thrift store is to figure out it’s use before I even take it to the counter to pay for it.

The first thing I bought was this chartreuse (my favorite color, btw) bowl. I had no idea what I wanted to do with it but I loved the color and it matched a lamp I had recently painted.

bowl

Well first, it made an awesome vase for some pretty little grocery store flowers.

flowr7

Now it’s home to an umbrella tree that I planted last spring.

umbrellatreepic

I found this white wire basket at Goodwill and I thought it would add some great character to a shelf or something.

basket

So I spray painted it oil rubbed bronze and threw in some bottles. For some reason it reminded me of what the milkman used to leave milk on the back porch in.

livingroompic

It stayed that way for awhile and then I found an even more functional use for it. Holding toilet paper on the back of the toilet.

how to use thrift store finds in your home2

These small bowls I found on a trip to Goodwill when we lived in Tampa.

pic1

They function as jewelry holders on my bedside table. I love having a place to toss my earrings and bracelets at night.

pic2

I’m always looking for jars because I can never have too many places to stash things. So this white jar with a lid — that I’m sure was meant to hold cookies or something — came home with me.

And it happens to be where I store the dishwasher tabs.

thriftedgoods2

how to use thrift store finds to decorate

So tell me — what’s your favorite thing from the thrift store and how do you use it? 


Need to catch up on my 31 Days to a more Beautiful, Purposeful and Functional Home Series?

Follow along here.

And as always


stay connected

 PinterestFacebookTwitterInstagram


12 thoughts on “How to Use Thrift Store Finds In Your Home

  1. Pingback: 31 Days to a Beautiful, Purposeful and Functional Home | Home For Now

  2. I love that wire basket- it would look cute in the kitchen holding some recipe books, too! My favorite thrift store home project is to find a vase with a unique shape and spray paint it a bright color!

Leave a Reply

