How to Grow a Lemon Plant

Plants are one of the best things you can add to a room. They bring life and color and happiness anywhere you put them. The plant in my home that I really love is my lemon plant.

Someone recently asked me about how the lemon seeds I planted last summer were doing so I thought I’d give a quick update in case you ever want to try your hand at planting lemon seeds.

In case you haven’t been following my blog for that long, I’ll catch you up really quickly. In July of 2013, I cut open a regular old lemon and planted the seeds just to see what would happen. lemon5

Well, to my surprise they grew.

lemon Collage

And they continued to grow.

October 2013

I’m as surprised as anyone that they are still going strong. But it hasn’t been without a mishap here and there. I totally forgot about them for awhile and when I remembered to water them, the leaves were drooping and most of them had turned brown and fallen off.

I’ve seen a plant come back to life before so I watered it and put it in the sun.

And this is how they look today.

 lemon

October 2014

The plant is growing pretty tall and the leaves are a lot bigger. I regularly go through and pick off the brown leaves. I’m not sure how much bigger it will get but the pot is pretty small.

I’m no expert at keeping plants alive but I’m patting myself on the back with this one.


Need to catch up on my 31 Days to a more Beautiful, Purposeful and Functional Home Series?

Follow along here.

And as always


stay connected

 PinterestFacebookTwitterInstagram

10 thoughts on “How to Grow a Lemon Plant

  1. Pingback: 31 Days to a Beautiful, Purposeful and Functional Home | Home For Now

  2. Reblogged this on PrincessPiethePinUp and commented:
    For blog share Friday I would like to share this great blog, “Home for Now”. One of the recent posts she shared her lemon plant. I want to try this and already picked out my container! I will post picks of my progress as it happens.

    Check out more of her posts for great home decor inspiration.

    Enjoy and happy Friday

Leave a Reply

