Defining Home

defininghome

When I think of home I think of a place where there’s love overflowing.

I think of curling up on the couch watching millions of episodes of Strawberry Shortcake and little faces in girly costumes putting on plays. I think of the holidays spent cooking in the kitchen — then gathered around the table eating. I think of countless hours spent huddled around the kitchen table doing homework and the bedtime stories we read before tucking the girls into bed. I think of that glass of wine shared with my husband once the house has gone quiet.

It took me awhile to figure out my definition of home. I wanted it to feel a certain way but I wasn’t sure where to start with decorating it so that it evoked that warmth I was after. 

And for me the beginning of decorating my home came in defining what home is.

Is it cozy?

Is it a retreat?

Is it a space where you can shut out the world and just be?

Defining home is such a purpose filled act.

For me — home is where I want to be able to come in, take a deep breath, shed the layers and relax. I want a home where everything has its place. Where we can kick off our shoes and nothing is off limits. Every inch is utilized and functions for us in someway.

So how do you define home? Have you ever stopped to think how you can purposefully create the home you want by taking the time to define what you want your home to be? 


Need to catch up on my 31 Days to a more Beautiful, Purposeful and Functional Home Series? Follow along here.

And as always


stay connected

 PinterestFacebookTwitterInstagram


4 thoughts on “Defining Home

  1. Pingback: 31 Days to a Beautiful, Purposeful and Functional Home | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

