Gardener Extraordinaire

Kidding. I’m a novice at best.

I’m not sure if it’s the warmer weather or that I’m becoming more confident in my old age, but I have been excited to get my hands dirty.

Anyone who knows me, know that I hate dirt. When my mother used to garden, I would laugh at her. There on her knees with dirt beneath her nails, wiping the sweat from her brow. And I was amazed that she somehow found joy down there. In all that dirt.

Now I’m finding that same joy. I guess I could compare it to having a baby. Without the pain. You plant a seed and watch it grow. It’s quite beautiful.

Yesterday, the sun was shining and it was a perfect day to plant. I finally got around to planting those indoor plants that I had bought over a month ago.

umbrellatree

And I planted one of the dumb cane clippings.

I was amazed at how the roots grew so quickly.

dumbcanerootgrowth

I have no idea if I did this right but I just stuck it in some dirt in an old candle jar and gave it a good watering. I’ll let you know if it survives.

dumbcaneclipping

 

I have to say that I have found my inner gardener.

It’s terrifying though because I have been known to kill a few plants in my day. But I have learned a thing or two after sacrifing a plant to my inexperience.

planttags

Follow the directions on those tags. They’re pretty helpful. 

I usually wait until the leaves droop a bit to ensure I don’t over water them. That usually means I water all my plants once a week. I chose Saturdays so that I would remember when to water my plants. 

fertilize

Fertilize. It really helps. 

So that’s what I’ve learned. I’m off to pen a book on gardening since I’m now an expert.

Any tips on keeping houseplants alive and thriving? 

7 thoughts on “Gardener Extraordinaire

  1. So funny you posted this! Like you I hated my parents garden and I even took it a step further and promised I would never own a garden…HA!!! I say as I announce I am at the beginning stages of starting my indoor herb garden as my new hobby. I AM SO EXCITED! But I find trying to research best practices, do’s and dont’s to be extremely overwhelming…each person/site I visit has a different method and opposing nuggets of advice. At any rate…I am determined to stick with it!!!

  2. Well done!!!! I love the dirt, digging, pruning, clipping….its therapeutic. Lived in Florida almost all my life, where you could throw anything into the ground, or a pot, (as well as plants that were borderline dead) and watch them thrive. Colorado has been, well, interesting……it’s a whole new planting experiment. Been here 5 yrs and I’ve yet to really figure it out. Too many rocks beneath the earth. What is up with that? I’m ready for the green of spring time to shine through. Love your posts

  3. I was chuckling as I read this post, because I’m right there with you… Never understood the whole appeal of gardening until recently. And I ALWAYS forget to fertilize! Poor plants. Thanks for the reminder! Good tips. I can’t wait to see how everything turns out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

