Mmm Yummy | White Bean Hummus

whitebeanhummuscover

For the past few weeks, I’ve been paying a lot of attention to what I’m putting in my mouth. My body has been trying to tell me something and I finally sat up to listen. I was feeling quite sluggish, heavy and just blah. And I knew it had everything to do with what I was eating.

So I had to take a minute and step back to evaluate. And it wasn’t pretty. One of my last meals before I decided to clean up my eating featured this fried tower of onions:

onion rings

No wonder I was feeling horrible.

Snacking is my nemesis. Sometimes I will snack all day long and never eat a full meal. But chips, cookies and anything else generally unhealthy is what I was gravitating to.

Instead of trying to change my snacking habit, I decided to change the types of things I’m snacking on. And this white bean hummus is at the top of my list.

It’s easy enough to prepare and makes enough for me to snack on for a few days.

Ingredients:

whitebeanhummusingredients

1 can of white beans

1/4 cup tahini

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 lemon

2-3 cloves of garlic

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp parsley

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in food processor or blender. Drizzle in olive oil. Blend until smooth. I garnish with extra parsley and red pepper flakes.

whitebeanhummuspretzels

I usually eat hummus with pretzels or spread on a wrap with a chicken breast and spinach. The heat from the red pepper flakes adds that extra kick.

whitebeanhummuswithveggies

It’s also really good with a plate full of veggies. Not to mention it’s pretty darn good spread on a pita or with pita chips.

This is a snack that fills me and satisfies me. And I come away feeling really good. Not bloated or sluggish.

I’m 2lbs down and feeling a whole lot better now that I’m focusing on putting whole, good foods into my body.

Are you a snacker? Got any good wholesome snacks to share? I need all the help I can get!

 Linking up to: Serenity Now||House of Rose||Craftberry Bush||The DIY Dreamer

 

4 thoughts on “Mmm Yummy | White Bean Hummus

  1. Pingback: What I’ve been eating | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

