Conquer Clutter with a Basket

refrigerator clutter

Can we all just take a moment of silence for what is the top of my refrigerator.

Deep breath.

Ok.

This is the most hated and feared place in our house. Second only to our front closet whose contents threaten to spill out every time the doors open. Another story for another day.

Back to the top of the refrigerator. It’s the place I toss things I want to keep out of reach of the kids but still be able to find when I need them. Because funny thing about my memory. I’m losing it. Bet I can find it on top of this refrigerator though.

I needed something. Anything that would get this mess hidden.

We are pretty short on storage so moving the mess to different places was kind of not going to happen. This stuff had no home. And the top of the refrigerator had become a catch all for just about anything and everything. I promise I’m not a hoarder.

That’s where this giant basket comes in.

fridge

Let me just take a moment to say how much I love baskets. They make me happy when skies are gray.

I’ve had this one for a few years. It used to corral cloth diapers then had a brief stint as overflowing toy box. I tossed whatever was in there and got busy organizing the top of the refrigerator.

fridge2

I can’t tell you how much better it feels to have this stuff contained. I used to immediately feel overwhelmed when I walked into the kitchen because the clutter was so…prominent.

Next on my list is our impossible Tupperware cabinet.

Do you have any places in your home that make you cringe? How do you handle the areas in your home that are magnets for clutter?

11 thoughts on “Conquer Clutter with a Basket

  1. This looks wonderful! I actually have a basket on top of the fridge in our house, although it’s sole purpose is to block our cats from jumping on top of the fridge and then jumping on top of our cabinets… our cats LOVE to climb. This gives me the idea to actually put things in the basket, like paint samples. Then they will be out of sight and my husband can’t complain that i have 20+ samples at any given time!

  2. OMG, I was just looking at my fridge this past weekend thinking about getting that clutter from up there. I have 3 cereal boxes, chips and a small round basket of granola bar (I don’t know why that’s up there). Great idea!

  3. Pingback: Spring Cleaning Challenge: Week 2 Deep Clean (Up High) |

  4. Great job, Michelle!! I smile every time i look at the top of my refrigerator. I cleaned mine off too. Watch out because stuff will try to creep its way back up there. Mary

Leave a Reply

