My Brand New Green Thumb

greenthumb

I have never been a plant person. I already have three kids to take care of and plants just seemed like one more thing that needed my attention. But now that my youngest is two and can go to the bathroom on her own, feed herself and goes to bed without needing to be rocked, I figured it was time for me to get some plants.

I started out with just one. This Dumb Cane (I feel like I’m insulting it every time I say it’s name) was one my mother – gardener extraordinaire- recommended because it’s pretty low maintenance. And I can attest to that. I’ve had it for over 2 years and I’ve managed to keep it alive. All it requires is one good watering a week when the soil is pretty well dry and the leaves droop just a bit.

plant3

Now that I’m looking at it, I probably need to replant or even split this plant. It’s looking a little overgrown.

When pruning it the other day, I accidentally popped off one of the stems. I stuck it in a tiny bud vase and now it sits on the shelf in my bedroom. I’m not sure if it will survive and shoot out roots but I’m hoping I can start another plant from this one. Any advice on this?

plant2

I love all the trees I see in the beautiful homes (like this one and this one) but I didn’t want to do the typical fiddle leaf fig so I went with a palm. I love the fullness that it adds and the splash of green. Like the Dumb Cane, it gets watered just once a week. I usually water all the plants on Saturdays so I don’t forget when I watered which one last.

plant1

I saw this Bromliad plant in a house tour (for the life of me I can’t remember which one) but I could not get it out of my mind for days. I stopped by Lowe’s and just happened to see one for $7. It’s gorgeous and I love the color it brings to the room. I usually buy fresh flowers for that pop of color but  they only last for 2 weeks at the most. This one lives in my bedroom and it may just inspire me to get one for every room in the house.

bromliad

On that same trip, I grabbed this Umbrella Tree. It’s interesting with out being typical. I’m all about interesting things I’ve never seen before. I paid under $3 for the Umbrella Tree and it’s going to live on the TV console in this thrifted green pot.

umbrellatree

The warmer weather and all the springy clothes in the stores now have really given me spring fever. I swear these plants have improved my mood. I’m a plant convert. I think I’m in love.

Do you do plants in your home? 

4 thoughts on “My Brand New Green Thumb

  1. I am a plant addict. Orchids are my weakness. The bromeliad is lovely. If your lucky it will bloom 2-3 times per year. They are super easy to care for. Love the color of it. Great finds.

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Corner | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

