How I Got Out of My Rut

Ruts sneak up on me. One day I’ll have so much creative energy that I have no idea what to do with it all.

Other days, I have nothing.

Yesterday was one of those days when I was feeling less than inspired but really wanted to make progress on decorating our bedroom. But I was seriously just empty. And anyone who is a creative type knows how discouraging that can be.

So I broke out the paints and started painting. The best way for me to get out of a rut is to paint. For whatever reason, it opens up my mind and everything just seems clear.

This is what I painted yesterday:

Image

And wouldn’t you know. It pulled me right out of that neutral zone I was in.

Exhibit A:

Image

I finally found pillows that work in the room and work with the blue. My problem wasn’t that I couldn’t figure out the whole color thing, it was more of me trying to work inside the color parameters my husband wanted for the bedroom. He said he wanted blue. But I was so stuck in blue, that I wasn’t opening my mind up to complementary colors.

In the photo, the color looks yellow, but it’s more of a citron. And now I finally feel like I can pull the rest of the room together now that I have an accent color that is actually working.

How do you get out of ruts?

Follow me: Pinterest|Facebook|Twitter

10 thoughts on “How I Got Out of My Rut

  1. Ignore my previous comment on your last blog post about pillows. I Love these pillows and think they are the perfect color accent to keep the room calm but energized. So happy you found your pillows.

    • Thanks, it’s actually your blog post that helped me rethink my pillow choice. I was trying to find something to tie the blue to the room instead of choosing something complementary to the blue. I also knew I needed something with a larger geometric pattern to add the visual interest. Thanks so much for all your help!

  2. Pingback: Weekend Joy & Stuff I loved this week | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

