How to Overcome Being Discontent With Your Home

How to overcome discontent

There are times when life gets overwhelming and sometimes I just need to take a step back away from it all. Gratefulness is a funny thing because it’s so easy to get sucked into wanting more and wanting bigger and wanting better. I know I can get caught up in wanting more things to decorate our home and a bigger house to put it all in. I get consumed with the thought of making one more space pretty.

I don’t think there is anything wrong with making things pretty. It’s one of my passions and I love walking through the door and feeling cozy and inspired by our space. It’s the discontentment with what I already have that tarnishes the pretty.

I have to remember this often and even though I know this mentally, it helps to arm myself with something to combat the feelings of discontent with our home.

1. Remind yourself of what you’ve done right 

Getting wrapped up in what’s wrong with my home (or anything in my life for that matter) sucks the joy right out of living. I have to remind myself of what I’ve done right and what I do love about where we live. It’s funny but when you stop focusing on what’s wrong and what you don’t have, it opens your eyes up to how abundant life really is.

2. Enjoy the life you have

It’s a hard truth for me to admit, but I get envious. Envious of a beautiful house or a super nice car or a fabulous sounding job or a huge bank account. I think I want all those things, but in reality, I know I don’t want to sacrifice my family, my sanity, or my marriage to get something that’s only going to keep me happy long enough to realize that I now want the NEXT BIG THING. And it’s in those moments that, in my heart, I’m saying the life I have isn’t good enough. I’m reminded every morning I wake up and see how quickly my daughters are growing, that I need to enjoy the life I have right now today.

3. Have a bigger vision

I am 100% grateful for our life. Where we live, what we drive, what we eat, where we sleep. All of it. I have a bigger vision and on a daily basis, I work towards this bigger vision. I learned all about vision boards from my husband and it’s so encouraging to look back and see how each of those things have come to fruition through hard work and dedication to the vision. I took some time and sat down with an empty notebook and wrote down some dreams. I have a vision and it makes me excited to get up everyday and work towards it.

These are things that have been on my mind for awhile and I’m glad I finally sat down and got it all out. I always need a reminder to be grateful and to enjoy what I have right now today. With the advent of Pinterest, where everything is beautiful and perfect all the time, I can lose sight of reality. That’s why this morning when my daughter spilled her cereal all over the floor I had just mopped, I didn’t get frustrated. Our home may not be Pinterest perfect, but it’s perfect for us.

Am I alone? Do you ever get consumed with the bigger and better and lose sight of the here and now? 

Follow me: Pinterest|Facebook|Twitter

Linking up: Serenity Now|Thrifty Decor Chick

6 thoughts on “How to Overcome Being Discontent With Your Home

  1. This was right on point … Often times I’ll catch myself looking at others homes falling into the “oh I wish …” Syndrome and have to snap out of it.. I’ve learned to Be thankful for what I have and appreciate my life.. Because fact is.. Things could be whole lot worse.. Thanks for posting

  2. Thank you for this post. It applies to so many aspects of my life. I think we all are guilty of wanting more- be it bigger, better, newer, cleaner, etc. You wrote this wonderfully, and I’ll be sure to remind myself of your words when the green-eyed monster come knocking at my door again.

Leave a Reply

