Grocery Store Blooms|Longing for Spring & A Tip to Keep Blooms Fresh

grocery store flowers cover

It’s been pretty gloomy here the past few days. Lots of rain and no sun. I know we haven’t gotten loads of snow like other places but I’ve still been longing for the warmth of spring.

I popped into Kroger yesterday and saw a lot of pretty flowers with clearance stickers on them.

Including the bunch I picked up. At $2.50, I gladly grabbed a bunch.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no expert when it comes to caring for plants and flowers. Honestly I need all the help I can get.

These are pretty fool proof though considering there are instructions right on the package.

grocery store flowers 3

I love the look and feel of fresh flowers in a room. I’ve heard it said that flowers make a room come alive. And I have to say that its true.

I got a great tip on Hometalk Yesterday:

You can also add a bit of mouthwash to your water to act as a biocide, fungicide, and plant food (the alcohol and other chemicals suppress the growth of mold and the sugar gives your flowers and cut greens something to nourish them).

Thanks, Lisa!

grocery store flowers 1

I’m going to see how this works. I want these beauties to last as long as possible.

grocery store flowers 2

Do you have any tips on keeping flowers fresh. Do you buy fresh flowers for your home?

Check out my other post on grocery store flowers:

flowr Collage

Linking up to: Love Grows Wild|Home Coming|So Much Better With Age| DIY Dreamer | Thrifty Decor Chick|Whipperberry

6 thoughts on “Grocery Store Blooms|Longing for Spring & A Tip to Keep Blooms Fresh

  1. Kroger’s discount flowers are the best. The orchids that I have came from there at a huge discount. I will have to try your mouthwash tip. Thanks for sharing!!

  2. Pingback: It’s the Details That Matter | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

