Home for the Holidays | 5 New Traditions

This year, the holidays are bittersweet.

We usually travel home every year. There’s just something about gathering with family that you haven’t seen all year that makes the holidays that much more special.

We decided for the first time to stay home. With three young kids I’ve been brainstorming ideas to make our first Christmas at home really special.

I remember as a kid, standing on a chair, helping my mom tear up pieces of bread for the stuffing. The smell of sweet potato pie baking in the oven. And our tradition of riding around looking at Christmas lights. I loved every moment.

They may not have been specific things that we did or made each Christmas, but the memories and warmth are what I remember. That’s what I’m after with my girls.

I gathered some ideas that will make the most of the time we have, as well as create memories that my girls will take with them forever.

Make Christmas Tree Ornaments

{Christmas Decor} Cinnamon ornaments- they make your tree smell amazing!

via

Pajamas, hot chocolate, Christmas movie

Christmas Eve box!! Christmas Book, Christmas Movie, Popcorn, New Christmas Pj's, Hot Chocolate and Christmas Mugs

via

Bake Christmas goodies

You're going to love this Easy Christmas Peppermint Patties recipe!  Super easy to make, fantastically festive, and always a hit with kids a...

via

Write letters to Jesus

Christmas Tradition - Letter to Jesus

via

Christmas Concert

Christmas concert

via

I love all the ideas. And I can’t wait to make some Christmas memories with my girls.

What are your Christmas traditions? Are you doing anything new this Christmas?ย 

14 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays | 5 New Traditions

  1. Oh! Those peppermint patties look delicious! Great post. We’re trying to start up some traditions too, since our families live pretty far away.
    We started an Advent calendar this year so we could try out activities and see which were best. The most successful have been: seeing The Nutcracker, making cookies, visiting the Christmas camel (yes, that’s a thing), watching a Christmas movie (Frosty the Snowman), making cards for the grandparents, watching the Christmas Ship Parade, and decorating the tree. Not as successful: watching the salmon run (most of them were done and pass away after they lay eggs), getting photos with Santa.
    I’m saving visiting the Teddy Bear Suite in downtown Seattle, and Zoo lights for grandma’s visit.

  2. My husband and I always have a romantic night of watching It’s A Wonderful Life. My daughters and I have baked cookies this year and every Christmas morning we have Christmas pancakes ala IHOP style with whipped cream and chocolate chips. It started off as a birthday cake for Jesus when my older kids were little but it became difficult with visiting relatives so it turned into birthday pancakes with candles. Now that they are teens and adults the candles are gone but we all know who we’re celebrating! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The pajama box is an awesome idea…I have been searching for ideas for care packets to send to my best buddies for Christmas next year and I think I may just have it now!

Leave a Reply

