Doing It Myself | Teaching an Old Desk New Tricks

ofc1cover

This IKEA desk was one of the first pieces of furniture that we bought. Almost 9 years ago.

It’s functional and I love the amount of space that the desktop offers. That’s where the love stops.This desk has always been hidden away in a dedicated office so it’s looks never were on my radar.

Until we moved here. There is no office where we can shut the door. Everything is out in the open. Pretty or not.

And this desk was not.

So I found an inspiration picture and got to work transforming this desk.

Now I can’t talk about this desk without confessing a massive fail right in the middle of this makeover.

My original inspiration desk was beautiful. Gorgeous lines. Classic but contemporary. Everything I wanted. But in my Ikea desk.

interior design, Greenville, SC : Linda McDougald Design | Postcard from Paris Home

via

Only this was my after.

Shudder.

A few coats of oil rubbed bronze spray paint + old Ikea desk = DISASTER. Lesson learned.

So back to the drawing board I went. And what came after this brainstorming session was much better.

I went with the same color we used on the dresser makeover. I thought it would be nice to bring that color to the other side of the room.

I reserved any excitement at this point. I was still recovering from my first epic fail.

The top of the desk needed new life too. But I knew paint was out since this was a high use area.

Contact paper. Bingo.

I have been dreaming of a white desk for some time and this was one way to get a bit of that white in.

This was definitely a test of patience. Contact paper can be a headache with all the bubbles and wrinkles. Once I got my technique down, I was golden.

And I love it. It turned out better than I could have imagined for a 9 year old desk that has endured 5 moves.

DSCF1968

It looks like it belongs in the space now. And I have to say that I actually enjoy sitting down here to work now.

DSCF1952

Be sure to come back tomorrow. I’m going to be sharing everything I learned about desk styling through my extensive research (Pinterest!)

What do you think? Is this an upgrade or was it better before?

Linking up | Thrifty Decor Chick|By Stephanie Lynn|Whipperberry

13 thoughts on “Doing It Myself | Teaching an Old Desk New Tricks

  1. Pingback: Thursday Tip|The Laundry Philosophy That Literally Changed My Life | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

