Thanksgiving | What’s on the Menu

Every Thanksgiving, we go home.

I make one dish and spend the rest of the time catching up with my family.

This year, I’m cooking an entire Thanksgiving meal.

By myself.

Granted, the crowd is smaller. Just my small clan {there are 5 of us if you lost count) And true Michelle style, I waited until the last minute to get prepared.

So I sat down last night and got it together.

Of course the turkey is the main event. This year, I’m going to try the Pioneer Woman’s roasted turkey recipe.

via Pioneer Woman Cooks

Next is my all time favorite. The stuff I look forward to eating all year. Stuffing (or dressing if you’re fancy). I use my mom’s cornbread stuffing recipe that includes sausage, bell peppers, onions and carrots. But this one looks pretty good too.

Thanksgiving Dinner Side Dishes: Cornbread Dressing Recipes

via Southern Living

The next thing that has been highly requested is macaroni and cheese. I’m going to use my own recipe but really add to it to make it Thanksgiving worthy. Think more cheese and butter. Yum.

macandcheese8

My husband’s family eats potato salad on Thanksgiving. So instead of mashed potatoes, I’ll be trying my hand at potato salad. I’ve only made it once before and only semi successfully, so this will be a wild card. I’m using this recipe as a guideline because it’s the closest to my mother-in-law’s.

via The Food Network

Another thing I’ve made only once and is a request from my husband is greens. This one scares me the most, but I’m going to try. Β This recipe is a base that’s most like what I’m used to my mom making

Picture of Collard Greens Recipe

And finally after all that, bread pudding (minus the raisins) for dessert. Normally, a sweet potato pie would be on the menu, but this is another special request from my husband. Depending on time, I may try to get a sweet potato pie together. It’s just not Thanksgiving without pie!

Old-Fashioned Bread Pudding

via Betty Crocker

Of course there’s going to be some sweet tea and egg nog floating around and possibly some apple cider too.

I’m actually getting really excited now that the planning is out of the way. Now the feat of actually shopping for all the ingredients.

What’s on your menu for Thanksgiving?

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving | What’s on the Menu

  1. I look forward to my stuffing every year too. That’s a family favorite. Everything on our list sounds good! This year I will be cooking a fried turkey, mac-the-cheese, green beans, cornbread stuffing, yams, and for dessert orange pie (sweet potato). Yum!

Leave a Reply

