How to Clean Crayon Off of a Vinyl Floor

crayoncover

Can you believe there are only 7 days until Thanksgiving! I better get moving on planning our meal. This is the first thanksgiving that I’ll be preparing an ENTIRE meal. Wish me luck!

Last night, my darling daughter got a hold of a crayon and went to town on the kitchen floor with it.

I mean she created a masterpiece! And this wasn’t the only spot.

Not thinking too much about getting the crayon up, I sprayed some cleaner and ran the mop over it.

It didnt even budge.

That’s when I turned to the internet to get some ideas of how to get the wax out.

There was some mention of a razor blade and hot water.

Um really? A razor blade to remove crayon? How hard can this really be?

The razor was a no go. So instead I turned to a DIY cleaner that I saw all over Pinterest and have even used on soap scum in my bathrooms.

It really is miracle cleaner. I can’t say enough about this stuff.

It’s a equal parts mixture of  HOT water, Dawn dish soap and vinegar. Then pour the mixture into a spray bottle. 

Make sure to use hot water. That is what really melts the wax.

Spray it on and let sit for a few minutes.

Grab your scrub brush.

Crayon gone!

I was thrilled because I just knew I was going to be living with a scribbled on floor. This was actually such a great floor cleaner that I just went ahead and mopped the rest of the floor with the solution.

This is my new go to cleaner.

Have you ever dealt with removing crayon from vinyl? What’s your go-to cleaner?

Linking to | The DIY Dreamer

5 thoughts on “How to Clean Crayon Off of a Vinyl Floor

  1. Pingback: Thursday Tip|Get Rid of Nighttime Accident Odors For Good | Home For Now

  2. Pingback: Sunday Rewind | Home For Now

  3. I didn’t see this post before and I’m always looking for homemade cleaners that work. I use Dawn for washing the shop windows, no streaks, and I use vinegar often…never thought of putting them together. Duh………..

Leave a Reply

