A Porch Makeover | DIY Garden Flag

flagcover

The one area of my home that I had absolutely no plans for was the front porch.

Because it’s Fall, I felt obligated to put a pumpkin out there. And so I did. One sad, lonely pumpkin, sitting alone.

I’ve had this idea for awhile, to turn an old tap top curtain into a flag.

flag17

I grabbed my curtain and laid it out on the table. Once I figured out how large I wanted my flag to be, I cut it out.

flag14

I didn’t worry too much about making the lines perfect because it would be hemmed.

flag13

Next, I folded over my edges, making sure to line it up with the top tab.

flag15

Enter my best friend. Stitch Witchery. I don’t sew so this stuff is a life saver.

flag11

Cut it to the correct length.

flag12

I used two strips to make sure that it stayed nice and snug.

flag10

I took the time to iron all the wrinkles out at this point.

I had a ton of ideas on how to finish this flag out. Stencil, monogram, or a fun pattern.  Thanksgiving is right around the corner and simplicity won out so I decided on Give Thanks.

flag9

I wrote out my words on a sheet of paper just to get the scale right.

flag8

I used a piece of chalk to write out the phrase.

flag18

I used green acrylic paint to paint the phrase.

flag2

flag4

flag3

flag1

My porch is a happier place with my new flag and the addition of a few potted plants. It even goes with my wreath that has transitioned nicely from summer to Fall.

This was such an easy and gratifying project that I plan on making a few more.

Have you ever made a flag? Do you decorate your porch for the different seasons? 

Linking to | Craftberry Bush | House of Rose | The Blissful Bee | The DIY Dreamer

3 thoughts on “A Porch Makeover | DIY Garden Flag

  1. Pingback: Sunday Rewind | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

