Tis the Season| Bleached Pine Cones

pineconecover

Tis the season for bleached pine cones.

I’ve seen image after image of the ubiquitous seasonal decoration being bleached and amping up it’s style.

I loved it so much that I even tried my hand at it.

We were in the park last weekend, enjoying the gorgeous Houston weather and the girls and I picked up a few pine cones.

The process is easy enough. Though, it’s totally not one of those instant gratification projects. More like 24 hour gratification.

I followed a few tutorials that I saw, using a 1:1 ratio of bleach to water. I submerged my pine cones and placed a bowl on top so that they would stay in the solution.

They sat for about 24 hours and then I rinsed them. If you’re impatient, like me, pop those babies in the oven on 200 for a couple of hours until they’re totally dry. They took a surprisingly long time to dry.

pinecone3.1

They didn’t get as light as I’d hoped, but I didn’t want to risk another go round and have them disintegrate on me. They’re pretty and will transition perfectly from Thanksgiving to Christmastime.


Take a look at some of my other DIY projects:

paintedpeartitle          diyrosettepillowcover          fauxnailheadtabletitle          coconutlemonscrubcover


Linking up | The DIY Dreamer | By Stephanie Lynn | Polkadots on Parade | Someday Crafts | Craftberry Bush | House of Rose | The Blissful Bee | Thrifty Decor Chick | Reasons to Skip the Housework | So Much Better with Age | By Stephanie Lynn | Hi Sugarplum

24 thoughts on “Tis the Season| Bleached Pine Cones

  1. I can’t wait to try this but I do have a question.Does the bleach remove the sticky sap? I have boxes of pinecones from my yard and haven’t used them because of how sticky they are.

  2. Pingback: A Simple Christmas | Decked Halls | Home For Now

  3. Pingback: Au Revoir 2013 | A Look Back | Home For Now

  4. Pingback: How to Bleach Pine Cones | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

