Boring Photo to Striped Painting

striped Collage

Awhile ago, on a particularly good trip to my local Salvation Army, I found this really great frame for $5.

It sat with a stock photo of a man and child (of no relation to me) for months waiting for the perfect picture or art to fill it.

striped

There was only one problem.

I didn’t have anything to put into the frame and it also needed a mat. Being on this repurposing kick, I’ve been on for the past few weeks, I decided to just paint over the black and white photo. After all, it already had a “mat” and I didnt have to worry about finding something that would fit.

So out came the painters tape. I taped off the picture to keep the white mat in tact.

I wanted something simple since there are a couple floral patterns going on in the room. And it needed to not compete with the giant purple chairs either.

So I picked a nice taupe and black stripe. Something graphic but understated.

stripedbefore

I taped off a couple of random stripes and got to painting. It took about two coats for the paint to fully cover the print.

I wasn’t fully convinced it would work at first because the paper was glossy, but it turned out to be exactly what I was looking for.

striped1a

The painting is really hard to photograp because of the glare. But I really love how it turned out.

How was your weekend? Have you repurposed anything lately?

Linking up to: Thrifty Decor Chick

8 thoughts on “Boring Photo to Striped Painting

  1. I have the same problem with a frame filled with the default random family! My friends make fun of me when they come over, but I haven’t found the perfect thing to fill it yet. I like the idea of just painting over the picture, it’s quite clever and it looks great!

  2. I’ve been taking a look around your blog and I have to say … painting over the inserts that come with frames is sheer GENIUS! I cannot believe I have never thought of this. I think this just changed my life. Thanks for sharing this idea!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Rewind | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

