Doing It Myself: Dresser to TV Console

Last month, I asked you guys what color would best tame the purple chairs that were taking over our living room.

The overwhelming vote was for Urbane Bronze (the color on the left). When I got a sample and tried it out, it was really blah. I didn’t like it.

dresserCollage

So I went back to the drawing board and ended up with Pantone Timberwolf, which is a taupe gray with really warm undertones.

Not only am I in love with the color, but the dresser as the TV console fits the space perfectly. There are six very well appointed drawers that provide more than enough space for all our unsightly clutter. And there is a ton of that.

I used a chalk paint recipe that I found on Pinterest. Chalk paint isn’t just for achieving that shabby chic finish.

I love the use of a dresser rather than a TV stand. The height is perfect. The storage is unmatched. And the room feels much more finished with a more substantial piece of furniture in that area.

I was watching Steven and Chris. I love those guys!

So how did I do with the revamp on this free, hand me down dresser? Did I choose the right color to compliment the chairs? What do you think?


Take a look at some of my other DIY projects:

paintedpeartitle          diyrosettepillowcover          paintedwatchbox (1)          fauxnailheadtabletitle


Linking up:

Craftberry Bush |Thrifty Decor Chick | The DIY Dreamer

47 thoughts on “Doing It Myself: Dresser to TV Console

  1. What a great makeover! It looks wonderful – nice job! I’m curious what you used to seal your chalk paint and did you like it? I used paste wax on a table but am thinking of trying polycrylic spray on some chairs since they will get a lot of wear.

  2. Nice work! I had to laugh at the comment about the purple chairs because I just suffered through a Battle Purple in my latest bathroom project. It’s posted on our blog if you have a minute to check it out. Keep up the good work. The living room looks great! I’m going to keep my eye out tomorrow morning at the flea market for a dresser/TV stand of my very own…

  3. Pingback: Doing it Myself | Turn Wine Bottles into Pottery | Home For Now

  4. Nice job, I love putting lemons (fake) ones in a jar or bowl! Yellow also compliments purple too! I also redid a buffet in a cream tone with royal blue but I crackled it. I definitely must share a photo.

    Shenine

  5. Pingback: Doing It Myself | Teaching an Old Desk New Tricks | Home For Now

  6. Pingback: Doing it Myself|Little Green Table | Home For Now

  7. Pingback: Au Revoir 2013 | A Look Back | Home For Now

  8. I absolutely love the tones of the Pantone Timberwolf. Just the right amount of grey and brown. Simply just a lovely color. I especially like how it complements the chairs. I understand the color orchids is the Pantone Color of the Year! Hurrah! A great choice! Take care and I hope your “Forever Home” is right around the corner!

  9. It looks great and really compliments the purple chairs, looks really well put together and I love the idea of using a dresser as a TV stand. I have thought about it in the past but have never done it. Looks great!

  10. Looks great! I have been wanting to do something like this. I think I might take out some of the drawers and turn them into shelves. Great idea, it looks so expensive and pretty in the room! visiting from #ThrowbackThursdaylinkup

  11. Thanks for sharing this beautiful transformation on #throwbackthursday! It turned out so nice and gives me inspiration to try something similar.

  12. Fabulous makeover! I love when people turn dressers into TV stands! I just haven’t been brave enough to do it!!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving such sweet comments! Following you on Twitter and Pinterest!

  13. Pingback: Living Room Before & After | Home For Now

  14. Pingback: 33 Ways to Decorate a Rental — On a Budget! | Home For Now

  15. Hi! Love the TV console! How do you hide your cable box in this? I’m wanting to do something similar to this but don’t know how to hide the DVD, cable box etc.
    Thanks!
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

