Doing It Myself: Painted TV Table

tablemain

Confession: When we were first married, this little TV tray was our dining room table.

An Ikea oldie but goodie.

Maybe it was for that reason that I have kept it all these years.

For the past year, it’s sat in our bedroom reading nook, covered with a table cloth, relegated to holding the newest best sellers.

But in a flurry of creative energy, I decided that this little table had been neglected for far to long and it absolutely needed to be painted. Immediately.

While trying to figure out what color to redo our dresser, I picked up a sample of Valspar’s Mountain Smoke.

It didn’t end up working for the dresser, but it was perfect for my little table.

table2

And because I’m really trying to work as much gold in as my husband will allow, I taped off the bottom and painted the feet gold.

table1

I added another bit of gold to the side as well.

table

We’ve been side table-less for quite awhile. So this table was a much welcomed addition. And added a nice place for our new lamp to sit.

table3

And I know it’s totally weird to have a sentimental attachment to a TV tray table, but we ate the first meal I ever cooked at this table. It may just become a family heirloom.

Do you hold on to furniture for sentimental reasons? 

Linking up here:

The DIY Dreamer | Craftberry Bush | The Shabby Creek Cottage | By Stephanie Lynn | Cupcakes and Crinoline | A Bowl Full of Lemons | Thrifty Decor Chick

28 thoughts on “Doing It Myself: Painted TV Table

  1. I think it’s great you kept it and decided to spruce it up.. Nothing wrong with being sentimental.. Great job.. And I love the color

  2. Agreed – what a great day to keep something that holds a special place for you and keep it functional and cute! 🙂
    I have one of these trays and it’s been in my head for awhile to paint it. Was thinking maybe chevron stripes on the top tray and then use it sort of like a luggage rack in my guest bedroom. One of these days I’ll get around to it. 🙂

  3. Pingback: All in a Month | September Recap | Home For Now

  4. Pingback: Sunday Rewind | Home For Now

  5. Oh so sweet! I have the same tv table, though not such a lovely memory to go with it! I painted it black on the top and gold on the legs. I plan to attach a suitcase to the top. You’ve inspired me thought, to sass it up a bit… thanks!

  6. Pingback: How to Redecorate with No Money | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

