New Color Palette = New Art

So I recently changed directions in my living room decor. I was inspired a loooovely pillow (what is it with me and pillows?).

So after taking down the Moroccan inspired painting and abstract painting, I had a huge blank spot on my wall.

Since my last pillow inspired art project went so well, I decided to try my hand at it again.

This is what I ended up with:

Surprisingly, it went pretty quick and I love how it turned out. I used acrylic painting from Michael’s and I just matched them to the colors in the pillow.

The other piece that I added to the wall is an S for our last name. In a previous life, it was copper. I dry brushed taupe and gray over the copper. It looks a little fatigue-y in this picture, but in person, the gray doesn’t have a green tint.

The S started off in a shadow box, which 20 minutes after hanging, ended up like this:

frame

I guess the S was too heavy for the frame and it came crashing down onto the floor. Luckily, the glass didn’t break and I just hung the S and the back of the frame with Command poster strips. All’s well that ends well, right?

Have you made any changes lately? Any averted disasters? 

Sharing here:

The DIY Dreamer | The Shabby Creek Cottage | By Stephanie Lynn | Cupcakes and Crinoline | A Bowl Full of Lemons | Thrifty Decor Chick

9 thoughts on “New Color Palette = New Art

  1. Pingback: All in a Month | September Recap | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

