Dress Those Walls: Colorful Abstract Painting

dtwday3

Thanks for joining me again for Day Two of my Dress Those Walls Series. If you missed yesterday’s post, be sure to take a look. 

painting1

Dress Those Walls – Day One: Moroccan Inspired Painting

boardmakeover17

Dress Those Walls – Day Two: Thumb Tack Cork Board Update

On to today’s project:

colorful abstract painting 

The other day, my oldest daughter asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up when I was a little girl.

“An artist,” I told her, a nostalgic smile for the young, naive me I had been.

“So, why didn’t you become one?” she asked, her eyebrows raised in confusion.

Hadn’t I told her that she could be anything she wanted to be when she grew up? But how had I not fulfilled my own childhood desire?

That leads me to today’s project. I finally picked up the paintbrush and dipped it in paint and went to town. And this is what I got.

abstract2

This painting probably isn’t the world’s most technical or most beautiful, but it reminds me of an important lesson.DSCF1639

Don’t give up on your dreams. Growing up has a way of making you shove aside the things that seem a little far fetched. I am grateful for the reminder from my daughter.

Anyway, about the painting. I wanted something in the same color scheme as the Moroccan Inspired painting, but I knew it needed to be totally organic as to not fight with the strong pattern of the other painting.

abstract5

abstract10

abstract2

I just painted and painted and painted until I was happy with the outcome. I was inspired by a  painting (this one) and used that as a jumping off point of how I wanted it to look.

I really am enjoying the paintings and though I probably wont add anymore to this wall, I’m already thinking about my next painting.

What was your childhood dream? Have you followed it? What walls are you dressing up in your home?

Sharing here today:

Thrifty Decor Chick

13 thoughts on “Dress Those Walls: Colorful Abstract Painting

  1. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: Wood Grain Painting | Home For Now

  2. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: From Dry Erase Board to Chalk Board | Home For Now

  3. Pingback: All In a Month| August Recap | Home For Now

  4. Pingback: New Palette, New Art | Home For Now

  5. A lovely story to go with the beautiful painting. It’s nice that it will always remind you of that lesson too 🙂 Is there any kind of instruction you can give on how to paint like that? I’d love to try, but I really don’t know where to begin!
    Thanks for the great posts, I’m glad I found your blog 🙂

  6. Pingback: 6 Ways to Make Your Rental Feel Like Home | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

