Dress Those Walls: Thumb Tack Cork Board Update

dtwday2

Thanks for joining me again for Day Two of my Dress Those Walls Series. If you missed yesterday’s post, be sure to take a look. 

painting1

Dress Those Walls – Day One: Moroccan Inspired Painting

On to today’s project:

There was this horrible eyesore in my kitchen.

Every time I walked into the room, my eye was drawn to the clutter and the overwhelming cork board. It was like a black hole. Only tan…

boardmakeover7

I remembered that I had one sole, abandoned curtain that would work to recover the board and a box full of thumbtacks. And an idea was born.

Sole curtain in all it's wrinkly glory

Sole curtain in all it’s wrinkly glory

At the time, I didn’t realize that the color of the fabric was the exact same shade of beige as the wall, but I still am pretty happy with the way that the cork board turned out.

boardmakeover17

I’m really all about using what I have on hand. Because as I mentioned before, trying to take my three girls to the craft store is really just me asking for an ulcer.

boardmakeover1

This was a curtain that we had for a very specific kitchen window in our house from three years ago when we lived in Philadelphia. I think recovering the board  was a pretty good use of this wasted fabric. And the thumb tacks were a great little decorative addition.

boardmakeover3

I snipped the curtain to fit, painstakingly pinned over 300 thumbtacks into place and then glued down the remaining fabric to the back of the cork board.

It also helped that I cleaned up the clutter on the board.

board makeover5

This wall is pretty massive in it’s bareness so I do have some plans for something to hang over the cork board. But for now, at least my eyes are a little more at ease when I see this wall.

Board Collage

Have you transformed anything lately? What walls are you dressing up in your home?

Sharing here:

Thrifty Decor Chick | Yesterday on Tuesday

11 thoughts on “Dress Those Walls: Thumb Tack Cork Board Update

  1. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: Colorful Abstract Painting | Home For Now

  2. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: Wood Grain Painting | Home For Now

  3. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: From Dry Erase Board to Chalk Board | Home For Now

  4. Pingback: Inspiring Your Work Space | Encourager Vigilante

  5. Very Cute! I really love what you did with the cork board…cannot tell you how many curtain panels I have lying around from old places that dont fit the new place.

  6. Pingback: All In a Month| August Recap | Home For Now

  7. Pingback: Inspiring Your Work Space

Leave a Reply

