Dress Those Walls: Moroccan Inspired Painting

DTW

Thanks for joining me for my series exploring several ideas to dress up your blah, bare walls. I’ll be doing a post every day, chock full of ideas of DIY art and easy things you can do to make your house feel like home.

On to the art of the day:

painting1

I came across this post from Jones Design Company and I was instantly smitten with this Moroccan shape. I have always been drawn to the intricate shapes and patterns inspired by Morocco, so I knew I wanted to makeover one of my canvases using the shape.

My inspiration and jumping off point was this gorgeous pillow that I have officially fallen head over heels in love with:

pillow

So here’s the deal with my canvas makeovers. I really had grown to hate the juvenile art that I created about 6 months ago. It was less art and more craft that my toddler could have created. My art needed some elevation.

diyartmo

And hopefully, this elevated it.

I started with some stencils that I found a free printable stencil website found through a simple search. I cut it out and traced it onto the canvas with a pencil.

painting

Then the long process of outlining and filling in the shapes happened over a couple week period. Mainly because I paint during nap times and after bed times.

In an attempt to down play my giant purple chairs, I’m trying to bring in a little more navy blue. Kind of reminiscent of this room.

I really love the pattern and the pop of color that it brings to the wall.

crate20

That other painting got a makeover too. Stay tuned it see it’s transformation later this week.

painting1 painting2 painting4 painting5 painting6

What patterns are you loving lately? What are you doing to dress your walls?

Linking up to:

Under the Table and Dreaming | Craftberry Bush | Thrifty Decor Chick | Yesterday on Tuesday

17 thoughts on “Dress Those Walls: Moroccan Inspired Painting

  1. Wow! That canvas turned out great! I’m loving moroccan prints lately too! I just did a fabric covered canvas in a moroccan print for my living room and I’m going to stencil a moroccan pattern on one wall in my bedroom too. (Just waiting for the stencil to arrive in the mail!) I think we have similar taste!

  2. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: Thumbtack Cork Board Update | Home For Now

  3. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: Colorful Abstract Painting | Home For Now

  4. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: Wood Grain Painting | Home For Now

  5. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: From Dry Erase Board to Chalk Board | Home For Now

  6. Pingback: All In a Month| August Recap | Home For Now

  7. Pingback: New Palette, New Art | Home For Now

  8. Pingback: 6 Ways to Make Your Rental Feel Like Home | Home For Now

  9. Pingback: Au Revoir 2013 | A Look Back | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

