Doing It Myself: Target Inspired Feather Wall Art

gold leaf cover

It all started with a casual stroll through target. My eye caught something gold and glittery. I instantly fell deep into love with this golden feather.

feather shadowbox target

I couldn’t get the golden feather out of my mind for DAYS and that’s when I knew I had to have a DIY intervention.

Scouring the internet for a feather template, I came across the perfect one. I was so enamored with what Lia Griffith does with paper. Seriously, check her out, it’s amazing.

PaperFeathers3

||via||

It really couldn’t have been easier. I printed off the template onto white paper. I didn’t want to haul my three cuties with me to Michael’s to find gold scrapbook paper, so I improvised. I just cut out the feather and painted it gold.

feather2 Collage

Several years ago, in my feeble attempt to decorate our first place together, I painted these canvases to match our eggplant colored chairs. You should have seen how happy I was at my first art project for our home. Fast forward 8 YEARS and those same canvases still grace our wall. There was nothing too terribly wrong with them, they were just boring blocks of color.

gold leaf before

I’d contemplated doing many things to embellish them but I figured what better than a golden feather?

A dot of glue and these lovelies were born.

gold leaf 6

gold leaf 4

gold leaf 3

gold leaf 2

gold leaf 1

gold leaf 7

I really love them but my husband is not a fan so who knows if they’re going to stay. The jury is still out.

feather Collage

What do you think of my Target inspired feather art? Stay or go?


Take a look at some of my other DIY projects:

paintedpeartitle          diyrosettepillowcover          paintedwatchbox (1)          fauxnailheadtabletitle


Linking up here:

Serenity Now|House of Rose|Craftberry Bush|Ivy and Elephant | Five Simple Things | Under the Table & Dreaming | The DIY Dreamer | Liz Marie Blog | Yesterday on Tuesday | Thrifty Decor Chick | DIY Showoff | Homecoming | So much Better With Age| Love Grows wild|savvysouthernstyle| Give Me the Goods|Whipperberry

45 thoughts on “Doing It Myself: Target Inspired Feather Wall Art

  1. Perfect addition to your canvases! Just turn on the waterworks if your husband wants you to take them down! 🙂 Nice job.

  2. I love what you did!!!! I was in the aisle for way to long at Target mesmerized by the feather accent pieces, snake texture lamp base, pony-hair-texture-exposed-stitch-throw pillows in aqua for longer than I should have been!!!!! They really do keep making great collections- but you made your own dream worthy collection!!! Perfection!!!

  3. What a great idea! I like that you used more than one, therefore making a statement in that particular area! Thank you for sharing.

  4. Good for you re-using one thing and embellishing it with an idea. That’s how great art is made. At least I think so. I love how the canvases look with just one feather on them. You made them look so beautiful.
    Now you’ve got me going, really inspired me so I’ll be making something similar here really soon. I have a bit of bird stuff in house so the feathers would look great. Found you from “under the table and dreaming” sunday showcase party.
    I find so many great ideas/projects on those parties. So many ideas my pc is over loaded with a zillion projects I don’t want to forget. Great idea to paint the paper feathers in gold to keep with idea found at Target. The dark color on canvases really show cases the feathers. Happy week

  5. I love it! So happy you found my feather post and it is fun because I just make gold feather as well. One thing I did was put the feathers into a shadow box frame that I purchased at Ikea. I actually included 3 feathers into one square frame and it helps protect the delicate paper. I will post it on the blog later this week so you can check it out.

  6. Pingback: Dress Those Walls: A Home for Now Blog Series | Home For Now

  7. Pingback: All In a Month| August Recap | Home For Now

  8. Pingback: 6 Ways to Make Your Rental Feel Like Home | Home For Now

  9. Pingback: Au Revoir 2013 | A Look Back | Home For Now

  10. Absolutely GREAT DIY! It’s amazing what looking at something awhile can strike in your imagination. Thanks for sharing this amazing and budget friendly possibility.

  11. Simple. Lovely. Elegant. Thanks for sharing with #ThrowbackThursdaylinkup and hope you link up again with us tonight!

  12. Pingback: Throwback Thursday Link Up Party (#9) May 15th | My Fruitful Home

  13. Pingback: The 3 Decorating Words I Live By | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

