Doing It Myself: Planting Lemon Seeds

See how my plant has grown here: Lemon Seed Plant Update

One late night as I was perusing Pinterest, as I am apt to do, I came across this pin about planting lemon seeds. I loved the look of the lemon plant and I had to do one myself. The leaves of lemon plants are supposed to smell amazing!

lemonplant

I always have a ton of lemons on hand so I saved up the seeds from two lemons and placed them in a mug to keep them moist until I was ready to plant them.

lemon7

Then I took a small vase (my $1 vase from Michael’s!) and added soil almost all the way to the top of the planter. I added water until the soil was moist.

lemon8

lemon3

Next I added the lemon seeds into rows, making sure to leave a bit of space between each seed. Before you plant your seeds, make sure that they are thoroughly rinsed of any pulp.

lemon6

lemon5

lemon4

The last step is to cover the seeds with more soil and add a bit of water until all the soil is moist. Then cover the planter with plastic wrap and place somewhere warm to create a greenhouse effect to allow the seeds to germinate.

lemon1

lemon2

I’ll be keeping a close eye on my lemon seedlings. I’ve been on a real gardening kick lately but it’s yet to be seen if I have a green thumb or a black one.

Have you planted anything lately? Would you try planting lemon seeds?

Update: See how my little lemon seeds have grown

13 thoughts on “Doing It Myself: Planting Lemon Seeds

  1. I like this idea! I seen some small lemon trees in Walmart several months ago and they were really cute, so now I think I might plant some of my own. Thanks!

    • I have always wanted a lemon tree but was afraid of the outcome. I once planted some lemon seed but left them in my garage and stop watering them. Disaster. Now I have a container garden of vegs. Keep us posted. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Going On| Little Lemon Seeds | Home For Now

  3. Hello everyone. It’s true that lemon form seed won’t give You a fruit but just try to plant Lisbon Lemon (citrus limon Lisbon). This variety has specific leaves. You can add them to Your tea and You’ll feel the difference. New, nice taste 🙂 try

  4. OMG!! I’m on a gardening kick as well with vegetables instead. I am so trying this this weekend. I have everything I need on hand including the lemon. Does it smell good?

  5. This is so pretty and love that they are fragrant. I am going to have to try this. Thanks for sharing with #ThrowbackThursdaylinkup. I’ve been container gardening this year and would love to add this to our garden. Going to cut up some lemon now and featuring your post on this week’s linkup.

  6. Pingback: Throwback Thursday Linkup {11}-Our Family's Favorite Pancake Recipe | Mom's Small Victories

  7. Hi Michelle, thank you visiting my blog. Just spent some time reading yours and I love it. I am going to try this for sure. I have a vintage gravy boat which I have been wanting to put a plant and this is the perfect solution. Off to find some excuses to use lemons today.
    Belinda

  8. Pingback: How to Grow a Lemon Plant | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

