Mmm Yummy: Lemon Poppy Seed Cookies

lemon poppyseed crisp

I had an abundance of lemons from my Dr Oz. 3 Day Cleanse Fail so I decided to make my lemons into lemonade. Or really Lemon Poppy Seed Cookies.

I started with a recipe I found on the back of Martha White Lemon Poppy Seed Muffin Mix and added in a ton of fresh lemon juice and lemon zest. I love the brightness of lemons in this cookie. It complements the butteryness of this thin, crisp cookie. So Yum.

lemon poppyseed crisp3

Here’s the deets:

lemon poppyseed crisp9

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 package Martha White Lemon Poppy Seed Muffin Mix
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • Zest of one lemon

GLAZE

  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • Juice and zest of one lemon

PREPARATION

lemon poppyseed crisp7

  • Heat oven to 350F. Combine butter, sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest and milk in medium bowl; blend well.

lemon poppyseed crisp8

  • Add muffin mix; mix until well blended.

lemon poppyseed crisp4

  • Shape dough into 1-inch balls and place on ungreased cookie sheets, 2 inches apart.

lemon poppyseed crisp5

  • Bake at 350F for 7-10 minutes until edges are light golden brown. Cool completely.

lemon poppyseed crisp glaze

  • Combine powdered sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest and milk in a small bowl and blend until smooth.

lemon poppyseed crisp plated

  • Drizzle over cooled cookies

These cookies are seriously delicious and they were so quick and easy to make. These are my go to cookies when I need something light, bright and buttery.

6 thoughts on “Mmm Yummy: Lemon Poppy Seed Cookies

  1. Well at least you lasted 3 days. I barely made it through the second day. My husband and I did the cayenne pepper, maple syrup and lemonade cleanse. What took me over the edge was the salt water flush. YUCK! Your cookies look so tempting. I love that you used the muffin mix. I will definitely keep your recipe in mind next time I’m craving something sweet.

  2. Pingback: Easy Lemon Cookies | Easy Lemon Cookies Recipe

  3. Pingback: Mmm Yummy: Summer Pasta Salad | Home For Now

  4. Pingback: Sunday Rewind | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

