How Not to Kill an Orchid

how not to kill an orchid

That title is a little deceiving seeing as I don’t know how not to kill an orchid.orchid 1

I got a gorgeous orchid for Mother’s Day and since then, I’ve been researching and trying to figure out how to keep this beauty alive.

orchid2

Orchids are notorious for being hard to care for. I admit, I was a little afraid at first, but I have since wholeheartedly embraced this caring for an orchid thing.

orchid 4

Hey, if I can keep 3 human beings alive, I should be able to handle an orchid. Right?

I found a website all about caring for orchids and I’ve learned a few things.

1. The best time to water is in the morning

2. During dry months, water 1-2 times a week

3. Stay away from direct sunlight

4. Fertilize once a month

orchid3

That is a highly condensed version of all that’s out there about orchids. Honestly, it’s a bit overwhelming, so I’m just going to stick with the basics.

Do you have an orchid? Any tips?


Looking for even more inspiration? You may like:

          greenthumb         grocery store flowers cover          flowr Collage

                           

6 thoughts on “How Not to Kill an Orchid

  1. Three ice cubes a week, so you don’t over water…but don’t let them touch the leaves. (I live in TX, so my air is fairly dry, and warm, although we have had a cold winter this year). Definitely no direct sunlight. When I have had to turn on the heat, I will mist once a day, just to counter the dryer air.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Rewind | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

