A Tea Towel DIY

I’ve been on a Operation Color for awhile now. I’ve been trying to inject color into my home in small pops.

I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to walk  into a room and seeing a small burst of color. It really brightens up a space and makes it feel intentional.

I recently added a color filled rug to my kitchen and I wanted to add even more color into my kitchen.

kitchen rug

I had a handful of white kitchen towels that I picked up from Target ages ago. It was stained and it looked horrible hanging on my stove that way. So I did what anyone would do with an old worn out towel.

I painted it!

Painted Kitchen Towel

I used acrylic paint watered down to about a 50/50 ratio.

Blue not pictured

Then I painted a random pattern on the towel. I wasn’t anal or too concerned about the pattern because I wanted it to look water colored and fun.

Once I finished painted it and it dried completely, I washed it to make sure it wouldn’t bleed when I was trying to use it.

tea towel 1

I love how it turned out. It’s fun and it saved a dingy white towel from the trash can.

tea towel 2

Have you transformed anything that was destined for the trash pile?

 

Linking here today:

thediydreamer | I Should Be Mopping the Floor

2 thoughts on “A Tea Towel DIY

  1. Pingback: 6 Ways to Make Your Rental Feel Like Home | Home For Now

Leave a Reply

