My Home for Now

One day I will have a forever home. One day I will be able to tear down walls (if need be) and put in a back splash. One day I will walk through the front door of my home and exhale because it is MINE.

mirror

But until that day, I’m making where I am, my home for now. I have lived in rentals for the past eight years and some of them, I didn’t even try to make feel like home. No pictures on the walls or welcome mats at the door.

DSCF1102

We moved to Houston, Texas (our second time here) about a year ago and we’re renting a townhouse while we search and save for our forever home. I often visit blogs and see decor ideas that I can’t implement in my own space. Because I’m a renter and this is just my home for now.

living room accessories

I’m making this temporary space feel like home by any means necessary (and by that I mean things I can pack up and take with us).

orchid2

A family picture on the wall, fresh flowers, a colorful throw on the couch and the smell of apple pie wafting from the kitchen. Simple DIY projects and decorating inspiration for those of us who can’t tear down walls and who are working with what we’ve got.

I’m happy to start this journey towards comfort and that warm, cozy feeling ofย home.

One thought on “My Home for Now

  1. Hi there! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. The bench is from Ikea – I bought it 2 or 3 years ago, so not sure if it’s still available. And the mirror was a cheapo one from Walmart.
    I’ve been having fun poking around your blog. Your family is very adorable. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck on your home search. Took me awhile to find mine and I’m having fun decorating. You’re doing a good job at making your rental cozy until you find your forever home. Good to hear from you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

